Lisp Environment

After reading way too much Paul Graham I decided I must learn Lisp.

The learning curve is steep for this Python junkie. One of the major difficulties for me was just getting the hang of transferring my thinking from edit/save/run to the Lisp REPL. Another was the fact that Vim facilities for working with Lisp just aren’t up to snuff.

The first Unixy editor I learned well was Emacs. After that I used SciTE for awhile. (I wanted to get back to regular PC keystrokes. Maybe I was insane…) Finally a coworker showed me how to use Vim effectively and that’s where I’ve been for some time.

Trouble is, when you go to learn free Lisp, you pretty much have to use Emacs, and retraining my hands from vim reflexes to Emacs reflexes was too hard.

Viper mode for Emacs is great. The only thing that still drives me wild is that viper maps the V key to visit instead of something like Vim’s visual mode. But I can live with that.

That’s the keystroke part of the story. Now you need to control the REPL from Emacs. SLIME seems like the best call here.

And then you actually need Lisp. I started with Clisp, but ended with CMUCL. I use Debian and the Lisp packages there seem to behave well together.

Explore posts in the same categories: Lisp

Leave a Reply

