Important (Fun) Facts

The trick with Test Driven development is to get a decent test and the product code to an ugly but working state quickly. Then the code design improvements you make are done from a position of strength. The worst thing that can happen after that is working code that is sub optimal. Outside of TDD I’ve observed a dichotomy. Either the code is a dirty hack which results in big trouble later, or the working state of the code consistently arrives later than planned.

I’ve also agree with the XP zealots that designs that result from improving working code are frequently superior to what I would have dreamed up ahead of time. While I don’t agree with the zealots on many points, they nailed that one. I and my employers and clients have been well served by this principle for several years now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Important (Fun) Facts”

  1. Michael L. Says:

    Here’s another important fun fact, in the form of a question: What’s the significance of 2^43,112,609^ – 1 (i.e., 2 to the power of 43,112,609, minus 1)? Have you seen the news announcement out of UCLA?

  2. Jennie Says:

    I love you, but I don’t get it. Too little sleep last night. I am glad that you are continuing to blog. Maybe someday you will write something that will not go over my head:)


Leave a Reply

